Big T's

Big T's

Sunday, April 24, 2016

Galbreath finds way back to NFS Victory Lane Collins, Walker, Scranton, Caudill also take checkers

photo by: Chuck Privette

LAKE CITY, Fla. (April 23) – A former track champion got reacquainted with North Florida Speedway Saturday evening.
Justin Galbreath started seventh, glued his PC Cycle/Discount Towing/ Impressive Chassis to the bottom groove and methodically picked his way to the Open Wheel Modified checkered flag.
“It’s great to be back,” Galbreath said in Victory Lane. “We were able to use the bottom and the car was good.”
The Panama City driver’s final hurdle was Jason Garver with five circuits to go in the 15-lapper. The last NFS OWM winner Garrett Stewart also made it by for second at the end. Wesley Duboise and Jim Passino rounded out the top five. Stewart kept his streak alive of not finishing outside the top four during the regular season.
Galbreath, the 2014 NFS champ, was leading the heat race when the car sharply turned right entering turn three.

“Up there a bolt behind the brake came loose and that’s what happened. We were able to get it fixed.”
The “Chase” was on in the Florida Outlaw EMod Series. Chase Collins, that is.
He started outside row two, grabbed the lead early and went on to win the 15-lap finale to top a 20-car field.
Shane Taylor tried a couple different lanes to attempt to get by, but Collins’ ride was too tough.
The drive of the night was by Jason Garver. The Starke, Fla. ace had to restart at the rear on lap three and climbed back to the show position by the end. Brandon Wells and Dale Graham came next.
Eighteen-year old Trey Pearson, son of Earl Pearson, Jr., made his EMod debut. He was the first car out of the feature, but was tops in one of three heat races.
Heath Walker climbed the banks and dropped down low both before passing son Devin Walker. He then cruised to the Hobby Stock 15-lap win. Devin held off Tyler Sistrunk by a bumper at the checkered flag with Jerry Fortner and Georgian John Phillips following.
Chad Scranton kept his perfect record with his new Thunder Stock car intact. He started seventh, had the point early and kept it for the remainder of the 15-lap feature for his second win in two starts with the car. It was his first at NFS.
Willard Driggers was digging hard at the end, but could not close the disadvantage. Andy Olson won a superb back and forth, inside and outside battle with Bryar Zimmerman for third. Frank Premorel debuted his new ride and took fifth.
Seth Caudill, Jr. made it two straight in the 12-lap Box Stock feature.
Shannon Lang started P2 and led every lap, but was disqualified following post-race technical inspection. Caudill started in row four and moved by everyone else. Ryan Newman, Curtis Robertson, Randy Newman and Garrett Risner followed.
The Dayton Antique Auto Racing Association wowed the appreciative crowd with 14 vintage racers. Winners were Steve Parrish (six cylinder vintage), Darren Nichols (eight cylinder vintage) and Dave Cash (Sprint Cars).
Action returns to NFS Saturday May 7 featuring point leader Cole Exum and the Southern Thunder Late Model Series, Florida Outlaw Micro Sprint Series, Hobby Stocks, Thunder Stocks and Box Stocks.
Front gates open at 5 p.m. with racing set for 7.
Saturday May 14 is Fan Appreciation Night with free grandstand admission to watch four classes of stock cars.
For more information log on to, the track’s Facebook page or call 386-754-8800.
Following are feature race results from racing Saturday April 23 at North Florida Speedway, Lake City, Fla.
Open Wheel Modifieds
Feature (20 laps) – 1. 141 Justin Galbreath 2. 67 Garrett Stewart 3. 27 Jason Garver 4. X Wesley Duboise 5. 34 Jim Passino 6. 15 Hunter Gustafson 7. 83 Shawn Taylor 8. 17H Caleb Harris
Heat (6 laps) – 1. Garver 2. Duboise 3. Stewart
Florida Outlaw EMod Series
Feature (15 laps) – 1. 81 Chase Collins 2. 82 Shane Taylor 3. 27 Jason Garver 4. 39 Brandon Wells 5. 14 Dale Graham 6. 50 David Markham 7. 52 Ben Hoden 8. 18H Dylan Hurston 9. 55 Donnie Gray, Jr. 10. 29 Marvin Hassell 11. 12 Joey Parks 12. 5 Dylan Crews 13. 95 James Edgley 14. 20K Nick Kirkus 15. 36 Wayne Conley 16. 4 Kenny Wells 17. 18R Dalton Rathel 18. 31 Donny Hall 19. 21 Corey Crews 20. 46 Trey Pearson.
1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Pearson 2. B. Wells 3. Kirkus
2nd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Collins 2. Garver 3. Taylor
3rd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Graham 2. C. Crews 3. Gray
Hobby Stocks
Feature (15 laps) – 1. 55 Heath Walker 2. NINE Devin Walker 3. 37 Tyler Sistrunk 4. F16 Jerry Fortner 5. 1P John Phillips 6. 08 William Edwards 7. 1R Buddy Rohn
Heat (6 laps) – 1. Sistrunk 2. H. Walker 3. Fortner
Thunder Stocks
Feature (15 laps) – 1. 4JR Chad Scranton 2. 21 Willard Driggers 3. 13 Andy Olson 4. 00Z Bryar Zimmerman 5. 7 Frank Premorel 6. 44 Charlie Seroki 7. 30 Kris Salyards 8. 65 John Windham 9. 22K Nelds King 10. 15 Trey Spradley 11. 6 Wade Shrowder 12. 19 Brad Nixon 13. B27 Ethan Butts 14. 98C Dale Graham 15. 26 Cliff Bellomy (Did not start – 58 Justin Wilson)
1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Scranton 2. Nixon 3. Bellomy
2nd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Olson 2. Premorel 3. Butts
3rd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Zimmerman 2. Seroki 3. Driggers
Box Stocks
Feature (12 laps) – 1. C2 Seth Caudill, Jr. 2. 22 Ryan Newman 3. 20 Curtis Robertson 4. 99 Randy Newman 5. 22JR Garrett Risner 6. 9 Brandon Givens 7. 7 Damion Brown 8. 71 James Deese 9. 72 Walker Windham 10. 07 Jeffrey Creamer 11. 02 Steve Masters 12. 49 Kenny Berry 13. 69 Zach Harmon (Disqualified – 48 Shannon Lang)
1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Risner 2. Windham 3. Lang
2nd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Ra. Newman 2. Ry. Newman 3. Creamer
3rd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Caudill 2. Robertson 3. Brown
6-Cylinder Feature (10 laps) – 1. 38 Steve Parrish 2. 22 Tom McDonald 3. 75 Rocky Buckles
8-Cylinder Feature (10 laps) – 1. 6x Darren Nichols 2. 61 Richie Iversen 3. Ronnie Rohn
Sprint Car Feature (10 laps) – 1. 98 Dave Cash 2. 1 3. 4x4 Jimmy Miltner