Big T's

Big T's

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Magic In The Air as Whitener Bags $3k I-95 Toyota LM Run Barker, Wooten, Durrance, Quarterman also take GIS checkers

By: Rob Lee

WAYNESVILLE, Ga. (May 21) – A battle. Some magic. Another battle. More magic.

The Magicman endured all of that and Mark Whitener took home the $3,000 I-95 Toyota Late Model Challenge Series feature Saturday evening at Golden Isles Speedway.

Whitener, Middleburg, Fla., won his heat and started the finale outside of polesitter, fast qualifier and other heat winner Devon Dixon.

The latter wheeled the Big Frog Shock and Suspension Technology/Dave’s Towing/Big Frog Signs and Graphix Koury-powered Rocket to the point at the drop of the green with Whitener in hot pursuit.

Dixon would only open a couple car length advantage until the first magic for Whitener’s United Land Clearing/Racecar Engineering Koury-powered Longhorn.

Dixon was collected by a spinning lapped car on Lap 11 sending the Apollo Beach, Fla. pilot and Big Frog Motorsports machine pitside.

Whitener inherited the lead and stayed there, but not after a plethora of cautions and a battle with Tyler Crowder. Both survived a Lap 13 caution that saw a good amount of vehicles with damage and stopping to have sheet metal pulled.

Magicman fans held their collective breaths as he pulled to a stop on the backstretch to the attention of track workers. Later it was found the fifth arm came off the car, maybe as early as Lap 2. Whitener told his crew after the race some “beating and banging” were audible so he knew something was amiss.

But Whitener lengthened the lead and thus the win.

Crowder, Kyle VanSickle, Rhett Carter and Jason Fitzgerald rounded out the top five.

Jimmy Sharpe, Jr. , the first series winner, managed an 11th place and is still the point leader after two events ahead of Brandon Dewitt and Carter.

Defending GIS champion Johnny Barker took home $1,000 and became the first Enduro repeat winner of 2016. Barker won race 2 of the GIS Super 5 Challenge Series, defeating Kyle Davis and Billy Ammons.

Brian Wooten stayed red hot with his third NeSmith Performance Street Stock win of the season. Shaun Washam and Brian Grantham came next.

Donnie Durrance topped a 17-car Super Street field and beat Keith Smith and Chris Keller to Barry Boatright’s checkered flag.

Joe Quarterman beat last race winner Courtney Parsons for his second  440 win of the year.

GIS heats up next June 4 featuring the EMods and NeSmith Performance Street Stocks in the GIS Super 5 Challenge. EMods will battle for $1,500 to win and NPSS have $2,000 up for grabs.

 Also in action are the GIS Late Models, Super Streets and Enduros. Hot laps are set for 6 p.m. with racing to follow.

For more information log on to, the track’s Facebook page or call 912-778-3767.

Following are results from stock car racing Saturday evening May 21 at Golden Isles Speedway, Waynesville, Ga.

I-95 Toyota Late Model Challenge Series

Feature -1. Mark Whitener 2. Tyler Crowder 3. Kyle Vansickle 4. Rhett Carter 5. Jason Fitzgerald 6. Cecil Eunice 7. Travis Carter 8. Joshua Bishop 9. Chad Tuten 10. Brandon Dewitt 11. Jimmy Sharpe, Jr. 12. Blake Spencer 13. Howard Stalls Jr. 14. Kelly Walker 15. Robert Diekemper 16. Mark Davis 17. Jimmy Sharpe, Sr. 18. Larry Anderson 19. Ryan Vansickle 20. Kyle Bridges 21. Charlie Williamson 22. Devin Dixon 23. Scott Johnson 24. Tom Jones 25. Ronald Thomas


Super  5 Challenge Series Feature – 1. Johnny Barker 2. Kyle Davis 3. Billy Ammons 4. Charles Smith 5. Jonathan Rowe 6. Luke Johns 7.                Bryan Beasley 8. Shawn Necaise 9. Dylan Taylor 10. Ty Youmans 11. Jordan Lockhart

NeSmith Performance Street Stocks

Feature – 1. Brian Wooten 2. Shaun Washam 3. Brain Grantham 4. Chris Keller 5. Luke Johns 6. Kenny Hicks 7.     Chad Fry 8. Makayla Tyrell 9. Daron Bailey 10. Matt Dixon 11. Morrie West 12. Dale Mimbs 13. Taylor Sowell

Super Streets

Feature – 1. Donnie Durrance 2.                Keith Smith 3. Chris Keller 4. Wade McBride 5. Ronald Altman 6.                 Jamie Whitaker 7. Lee Keller 8. Luke Hayes 9. Paul Jones 10. Steve Flippo 11. Billy Benefield 12.               Roger Thomas 13. Buddy Rohn 14. James Scott 15. Arthur Singletary 16. Jordan Fowler 17. Randy Garrison


Feature – 1. Joe Quarterman 2. Courtney Parsons 3. Mack Williams 4. Buckly Conwell 5. Austin Bailey 6. Dusty Williams 7. Kenny Turner