Big T's

Big T's

Monday, June 13, 2016

Ray races to Prelude to the Benny win Walker, Miller, Garver, Caudill also take NFS checkers

Devin Walker wins the Dirts4Racing Hobby Stock race at NFS


LAKE CITY, Fla. (June 11) –  The quick move was part of the mission.

Karlin Ray made the move and his Camaro stuck and shot to the front on the very first lap.

Nineteen circuits later around North Florida Speedway, the Flora City teen had one of the biggest wins of his career.

 Ray won the “Prelude to the Benny” Thunder Stock feature Saturday evening. A check for $1,000 and a guaranteed starting spot in the September 24 Benny Corbin Memorial went with the victory.
“That was the plan – to get out front early and stay there,” Ray said in Victory Lane. “I knew it would be tough, but the track, I could go anywhere and we outran them

Ray darted from his second row inside starting spot and then waited out numerous cautions. No less than four other drivers ran second during the race with Palatka’s Chad Scranton making the last move to take the spot. Scranton had won his previous two trips to NFS.

Arthur Conquest restarted at the rear after bringing out an early caution and raced back to third. Andy Olson did the same for fourth and Ray Wheeler rounded out the top five.

The loud pop out of Mike Stalnaker’s car changed the entire Dirts4Racing Hobby Stock Series outcome.

Stalnaker was well on his way to his fifth consecutive series victory when the engine failed.

That gave the advantage to Devin Walker, who passed David Barwick on Lap 15 and won the 20-lap feature. It was Walker’s third straight Hobby Stock win at his home track.

“It was clean racing and it all came together,” Walker said. “I like to run high, if I can, but that was good racing.”

Barwick, Tommy Hill, Jerry Fortner and Michael Whipple came next.

Dirk Miller sliced his way to the front early and cruised to the Florida Outlaw Micro Sprint Series 20-lap win. Robbie Smith and Kenny Brewer exchanged slide jobs with each other midway through the main and finished that way. David Hall and Robby Hoffman followed.

Jason Garver strolled to the victory in the EMod 15-lap finale, beating Shane Taylor, Dylan Hurston, Eric Baker and Wayne Conley.

Seth Caudill, Jr. patiently waited for an opening and then outran the rest of the Box Stocks in the 10-lap main. Damion Brown, Robert O’Neail and Emmett Mims chased.
Action hits the 3/8-mile clay oval again June 25 with the return of the All Start Stock Car Series. The Florida Outlaw EMod Series, Open

Wheel Modifieds, Thunder Stocks and Box Stocks also take the green flag.

Gates open at 5pm with racing at 7:30 p.m.

For more information log on to, the track’s Facebook page or call 386-754-8800.

Following are feature race results from racing Saturday June 11 at North Florida Speedway, Lake City, Fla.

Thunder Stocks

Prelude to the Benny Feature (20 laps) – 1. 72 Karlin Ray 2. 4JR Chad Scranton 3. 78 Arthur Conquest 4. 13 Andy Olson 5. 56 Ray Wheeler 6. 66 Dave Dowling 7. 30 Kris Salyards 8. 22K Nelda King 9. 44 Timmy Roach 10. G0 Dale Graham 11. 58 Justin Wilson 12. 7 Kent Corbin 13. 98C Brad Nixon 14. 15 Trey Spradley 16. 52 Willard Driggers 17. 23 Chris Rowe 18. 00Z Bryar Zimmerman (Did Not Start – 82 Shane Taylor, 99 Gerard Haley).

Dirts4Racing Hobby Stocks

Feature (20 laps) – 1. NINE Devin Walker 2. 89 David Barwick 3. 1H Tommy Hill 4. F16 Jerry Fortner 5. 35 Michael Whipple 6. 55 Heath Walker 7. 8 Mike Stalnaker 8. 11K Josh Kunstbeck 9. 31 David Riner

Florida Outlaw Micro Sprint Series

Feature (20 laps) – 1. 68 Dirk Miller 2. 77 Robbie Smith 3. 45 Kenny Brewer 4. 67 David Hall 5. 66 Robby Hoffman 6. 38 Mike Brewer 7. 86 Russ Heider 8. 13 John Kahl 9. John Lester 10.00 Tony Sinquefield 11. 24 Ken Penta 12. 7S Richard Smith 13. 71 John Craddock 14. 0 Alan Anderson 15. 7X A.J. Parrish


Feature (15 laps) – 1. 27 Jason Garver 2. 82 Shane Taylor 3. 18 Dylan Hurston 4. 98 Eric Baker 5. 36 Wayne Conley 6. 12 Joey Parks 7. 50 David Markham 8. 14 Dale Graham 9. 07 Jimmy Peele (Did Not Start – 111 Mark Prewitt, 29 Marvin Hassell)

Box Stocks

Feature (10 laps) – 1. C2 Seth Caudill, Jr. 2. 7 Damion Brown 3. 1 Robert O’Neail 4. 13 Emmett Mims (Did Not Start – 07 Shannon Lang).