Big T's

Big T's

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Strehle turns back Showers to make it two weeks two different winners in the Thunders!

Dalton Strehle finds victory in Thunderstock
(Article from VSP Staff -Dustin Carter, Photo from Dalton Strehle)

(9-3-16) Barberville , Fl Hurricane Hermine tried everything to stop racing action for the first time on the 2016 racing season, but VSP track crew would have nothing of it as racing action continued the past Saturday night. A rain shower hit the track just around 1:00pm, but moved out fairly quickly as all racing action started on just past the 8:00pm time frame.

 The first feature event to take center stage would be the Mercedes Benz Limited Late Models as it was all the Blake Spencer show in his Longhorn, Bozard Ford, Revolution Racing #6. Spencer, who normally runs the Advanced Medical Late Model division, came to VSP wanting more track time and stepped back a class while making the appropriate changes to run with the limited late division. With the lightning fast race surface, he would win by well over a straightaway as Sonny Thompson came home second followed by, John Westbrook, Joey Haslauer, and Shan Smith.                       

 The Daytona Sportswear Modifieds saw some of the best racing action as Larry Burkins and season points leader Garret Stewart did battle. Stewart, who would start nearly last on the starting grid, worked his way methodically to the front of the field and began to apply heavy pressure on Burkins. As the two came to the two to go signal, Burkins would get out of shape along with Stewart and the two would slam hard into each other. Burkins was able to keep going, but Stewart's Salt Death Fishing, Elite Chassis #67 suffered major damage and was unable to continue. Burkins would go on to win followed by Larry Mott, Jamie Carter, Hunter Gustafson, and Dillon Buhr.
 The Gary Yeomans Performance Parts Mini Stocks were the headliner event of the evening as ten drivers checked into the pits to compete for the special $500 to win top prize. Reid Christensen would start on the pole in his Christensen Racing Performance #30 and dominate the races first ten circuits. On the move was Brad Fender in his Going Butts BBQ, Fender Dry Wall, Rocket Chassis #69 as he would get to second and set his sights on Christensen just past the half way mark. The two would put on a wild show for the fans right to the very last lap, but in the end it was Christensen winning over Fender collecting his first win in the Mini Stock division of 2016. Christensen also has two other wins in 2016 in the Gladiator division. Fender came home second followed by Todd Haught, Chris Thomas, and Candi Schmitt. Season points leader with one event remaining, Dalton Walker, came home in sixth.
With the Youngs Enterprises Iron Man Series Race around the corner, many teams used Saturday night as either a test and tune or a night off in the Revolution Racing presented by Bozard Ford V8 Thunderstocks. 12 cars checked into the pits as well as David Showers Jr. and David Showers Sr. who took the previous week off to run the Benny Corbin Prelude race at Hendry County Speedway. When the green flag fell it was Dalton Strehle, who has been driving for Bobby McCormick in recent weeks, getting the early race lead with both David Shower Jr. and Sr. in tow. Last weeks winner Alan Peacock brought out the races first caution as he broke with just three laps into the main event. When the green flag dropped again Strehle would have his hands full of Showers Jr., but in the end Strehle would prevail and win his first race of 2016 in the Thunderstock division. Showers Jr. was second followed by Sr., Travis Staats, and Ben Hutto.
The final feature of the evening went to the Gary Yeomans Performance Parts Gladiator division. Starting of the front row were Josh Walker and Dustin Higdon and when the green flag dropped it was Walker getting the early lead. The two would battle side by side for the entire race giving each other room and putting on a show for the fans. Further back, Dustin Carter, who missed heat race action for a prior engagement, was working his way to the front and found himself in third place with just three laps to go, but would run out of time to catch the leaders as it was Josh Walker coming home the winner in his Fast Tech Racing Engines #33. Higdon was second, Jamie Sullivan would get back around Carter for third and hold him off at the line with John Baxter rounding out the top five.
Next weeks racing action features the all exciting Youngs Enterprises V8 Thunderstocks racing for $1200 to win. Last time it was young Dustin Turnage Jr. taking home the top spot in a wild race. The Gary Yeomans Performance Parts Gladiators are also in action with a special $300 to win race as well. The Advanced Medical Labs Late Models are in action with the Florida Racing (Limited Lates) Series also making a return trip to VSP.
The racing action all starts at 8:00pm, the Pit Gate and Drive Thru will open at 4:30pm and the Main Grandstands open at 5:30!
We hope to see everyone in town for some amazing racing action this Saturday!

Mercedes Benz Limited Late Models - (9 Cars)
(Heat #1) Blake Spencer, Sonny Thompson, Steve Shead, Joey Haslauer, John Westbrook, Chuck Jackson, Michael Ridgeway Jr., Shan Smith, Lisa O'Connor
(Feature/20 Laps) Spencer, Thompson, Westbrook, Haslauer, Smith, Ridgeway Jr., Jackson, O'Connor, Shead

Daytona Sportswear Modifieds - (11 Cars)
(Heat #1) Larry Burkins, Dillon Buhr, Jamie Carter, Patrick Vareika, Matt Johnson, Jonathan Thomas
(Heat #2) Hunter Gustafson, Larry Mott, Mike Phillips, Don Crandall, Garret Stewart
(Feature/20 Laps) Burkins, Mott, Carter, Gustafson, Buhr, Vareika, Thomas, Johnson, Phillps, Crandall, Stewart

Revolution Racing Presented by Bozard Ford V8 Thunderstocks- (12 Cars)
(Feature/20 Laps) Dalton Strehle, David Showers Jr., David Showers Sr., Travis Staats, Ben Hutto, Tim Hughes, Brian Schrunk, Charlie Staats, James Strehle, Matt Schloss, James Parris, Alan Peacock

Gary Yeomans Performance Parts Mini Stocks- (9 Cars)
(Feature/20 Laps/$500 to Win) Reid Christensen, Brad Fender, Todd Haught, Chris Thomas, Candi Schmit, Dalton Walker, Mark Moniz, Cecil Martin, Billy Dukes

Gary Yeomans Performance Parts Gladiators- (8 Cars)
(Heat #1) Josh Walker
(Feature/15 Laps) Walker, Dustin Higdon, Jamie Sullivan, Dustin Carter, John Baxter, John Windham, Erik Mantz, Dewayne Yeomans