Big T's

Big T's

Sunday, July 24, 2016

Ferguson and Stewart Take Home The Rebel Yell (VIDEOS)

Photo from Chris Ferguson facebook

July 23, 2016) Chris Ferguson of Mt. Holly, N.C. took the lead away from Brent Dixon and Dennis Franklin to lead the remaining 18 laps en route to his first-career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series victory Saturday Night at Screven Motor Speedway during the Annual Rebel Yell event.
  Ferguson drove the Champion Spark Plugs-sponsored, Clements Racing Engine-powered Rocket Chassis to the $5,300 payday. Ferguson became the fifth different winner in five races so far on the tour
Highlights from Super Late Models

V8 feature
click read more for full results

 The series will return to action Sunday July 24th at the Rome Speedway in Rome, Ga. for Round # 6 paying $5,300-to-win. Devin Gilpin has a slim 10-point margin over Shanon Buckingham to start the second-half of the series schedule.
 Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at .
Special Thanks to the following Southern Nationals Series Supporters: Schaeffer’s Oil, Old Man’s Garage, Tennessee R.V. Sales & Service Super Center, Arizona Sport Shirts, Gotta Race, American Race Tires, AR Bodies, Collins Signs, Delph Communications,, Dyer’s Top Rods, FK Rod Ends, Hoosier Racing Tire, Keyser Manufacturing, MasterSbilt Race Cars, Capital Race Cars,, Sunoco Race Fuels (Official Series Fuel), Vic Hill Racing Engines, VP Racing Fuels, Wiles Driveshafts.
Official Summary of Results
Feature Results of Round 5 at Screven Motor Speedway, Sylvania, Ga. on July 23, 2016:
1. Chris Ferguson-Mt. Holly, N.C.
2. Brent Dixon-Elberton, Ga.
3. Dennis Franklin-Gaffney, S.C.
4. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
5. Donald Bradsher-Burlington, N.C.
6. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.-Ocala, Fla.
7. Devin Gilpin-Columbus, Ind.
8. Ricky Weiss-Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
9. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
10. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
11. Mark Whitener-Middleburg, Fla.
12. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
13. Chris Brown-Spring, Texas
14. Austin Horton-Whitesburg, Ga.
15. Jordy Nipper-Gray, Ga.
16. Blake Spencer-St. Augustine, Fla.
17. Kelly Guy-Thomson, Ga.
18. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
19. Gavin Landers-Batesville, Ark.
20. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
21. Jim Rogers-Statesboro, Ga.
22. Russell Brown Jr.-Valdosta, Ga.

Time of Race: 23 minutes, 14 seconds
Margin of Victory: 01.681 seconds
Yellow Flags: Four (laps 9, 11, 33, 34)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Gilpin (1-10), Franklin (11-30), Dixon (31-34), Ferguson (35-53)
Entries: 26
FK Rod Ends Overall Fast Time: Brent Dixon-14.521 seconds
The Joie of Seating Winner Award: Chris Ferguson
Capital Race Cars Highest Finisher: Stacy Boles
Collins Signs 10th Place Award: Shanon Buckingham
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Mark Whitener
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): Mark Whitener
Racecar Engineering Hard Luck Award ($50 certificate): Robby Moses
Provisional Starters: Chris Brown, Stacy Boles

Heat-1 Finish: Kenny Collins, Shanon Buckingham, Jordy Nipper, Kelly Guy, Blake Spencer, Scott Shirey, Robby Moses, Stacy Boles.
Heat-2 Finish: Russell Brown Jr., Donald McIntosh, Vic Hill, Gavin Landers, Jim Rogers, Jason Croft, Chris Brown (DNS), Douglas Davis (DNS).
Current Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Points (after Round 5):
1. Devin Gilpin-837
2. Shanon Buckingham-827 ®
3. Chris Brown-819
4. Ricky Weiss-809
5. Vic Hill-789
6. Donald McIntosh-787
7. Stacy Boles-771
8. Gavin Landers-735 ®
9. Robby Moses-668 ®
10. Craig Vosbergen-611