Big T's

Big T's

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

‘Southern Nationals Series’ $5,300-to-win Super Late Models scheduled Friday, July 22 at Swainsboro Raceway

Photo are article from Swainsboro Raceway

SWAINSBORO, GA. — Swainsboro Raceway will host the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Old Man’s Garage for a $5,300-to-win Super Late Model show on Friday, July 22, with the event being promoted by Ray Cook, Vic Hill and Chris Tilley. This will be the ninth year in a row the Southern Nationals Series has made a visit to our grounds and we look forward to the thrilling racing action they bring with them.
 Also in action with the Super Late Models ($5,300-to-win … $530-to-start) will be the Zaxby’s Crate Late Models, Sunoco Super Street, Daniels Chevrolet Pure Stock, Roger Wheeler Construction Road Warriors, and the Scarehouse of the South 440’s. The Swainsboro Kart Track will also be kicking the dust up during Friday’s racing events.

Click read for article

 The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Old Man’s Garage two-week summer tour features 11 Super Late Model special events across the Southeast between July 16-30. Races will be held in Georgia, North Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.
Tracks hosting races in 2016 include Wythe Raceway (Rural Retreat, Va.), Volunteer Speedway (Bulls Gap, Tenn.), 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, Tenn.), Tri-County Race Track (Brasstown, N.C.), Swainsboro (Ga.) Raceway, Screven Motor Speedway (Sylvania, Ga.), Rome (Ga.) Speedway, Boyd’s Speedway (Ringgold, Ga.), Crossville (Tenn.) Speedway, Smoky Mountain Speedway (Maryville, Tenn.), and Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway.
 Jeff Cooke of Spartanburg, S.C., won the 2005 Southern Nationals Series title. Anthony White of Clinton, Tenn., was champion in 2006, with Gray Court, S.C.-chauffeur Chris Madden winning championships in 2007, ’08 and 2011, ’12 and ’14. Tommy Kerr of Maryville, Tenn., claimed the championship in 2009, with Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga, winning the title in 2010. Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., captured the championship in 2015. Who will be champion in 2016?
Previous Southern Nationals Series winners at Swainsboro Raceway are Chris Madden (2008), Casey Roberts (2009), Bub McCool (2010), Mother Nature (2011), Chris Madden (2012), Jonathan Davenport (2013), and Casey Roberts (2014 & 2015)..
Drivers “tentatively” expected to follow the 2016 Southern Nationals Series tour include defending series champion Casey Roberts (Toccoa, Ga.), along with five-time series champion Chris Madden (Gray Court, S.C.), Donald McIntosh (Dawsonville, Ga.), Vic Hill (Mosheim, Tenn.), Ricky Weiss (Headingly, Manitoba, Canada), Craig Vosbergen (Perth, Australia), Chris Brown (Spring, Texas), Derek Ellis (Chatsworth, Ga.), Gavin Landers (Batesville, Ark.), Devin Gilpin (Columbus, Ind.), Stacy Boles (Clinton, Tenn.), Shanon Buckingham (Morristown, Tenn.), Pierce McCarter (Gatlinburg, Tenn.), Robby Moses (Friendsville, Tenn.), Austin Smith (Cedartown, Ga.), and possibly others.
Adult grandstand & karting admission on Friday, July 22 is $20, Kids (ages 6-11) $10, with kids 5-and-under admitted free in the grandstands. The grandstand admission also gives fans access to the Swainsboro Kart Track. Pit passes will be $35 for adults and $20 for kids.
The gates will open at 3 P.M. Hot laps are tentatively scheduled to begin at 7 p.m., to be followed by qualifying and then racing action. Kart registration will be from 3 P.M. to 5 P.M. with karting action starting at 5:30 P.M.
Southern Nationals Series purse for Friday, July 22: 1) $5,300, 2) $2,600, 3) $1,800, 4) $1,400, 5) $1,100, 6) $850, 7) $750, 8) $725, 9) $700, 10) $675, 11) $650, 12) $625, 13) $600, 14) $580, 15) $570, 16) $560, 17) $550, 18) $540, 19) $530, 20) $530, 21) $530, 22) $530.

Tire Rule for Swainsboro: Hoosier Racing Tire: 1300, 1350, 1600, LM 40, Crate 21. (Lucas equivalent allowed) American Racer: 44, 48, 56.
You don’t want to miss the hottest racing action in the south. Tell your family, friends, neighbors and co-workers all about racing at Swainsboro Raceway. Be there Friday, July 22nd to witness the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series invade the speedway as well as the thrilling racing action in all of our local racing divisions and 17 karting classes.