Big T's

Big T's

Saturday, August 27, 2016

Bloomquist Takes John Bradshaw Memorial at Ponderosa Speedway

(Photo and Article from Lucas Oil Media)

 JUNCTION CITY, KY (August 26, 2016) – Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series point leader Scott Bloomquist extended his lead in the championship standings by winning the 13th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial at Ponderosa Speedway on Friday Night. It was the first ever visit by the LOLMDS to the Central Kentucky bullring.
 Bloomquist led all 50 laps in his Crop Production Services, Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Automotive, Andy Durham-powered, Sweet-Bloomquist Chassis. Tim McCreadie’s Sweeteners Plus, Longhorn finished second, followed by Dennis Erb Jr. in his Vomac Truck Sales, Black Diamond Chassis.

 Bloomquist dominated the competition all night long, first setting fast time in his group, and then easily winning his heat race. He bolted to the lead at the start of the main event and was never seriously challenged all race long.
“The car was nearly perfect. I don’t know if I could find anything wrong with,” said the 52-year-old Hall of Famer who scored his 11th series win of the season.
“That’s just about as good as you could ask for right there! They put new clay on this track and it really helped it. You could race all over it tonight. You could run the bottom, the middle, and the top. I really enjoyed racing here tonight.”
“It’s awesome; the crowd they had here tonight, they said it might be a record. I see they put in some new stands in turn four and those looked full. It’s looks like they are going to have to add on again.”
McCreadie wrestled second from Erb on lap 29. McCreadie then started to track down Bloomquist, but a couple of cautions in the last ten laps allowed Bloomquist a clear race track to forge ahead.
“It’s always fun to run in front of a crowd like this tonight. This is only our second time ever running here. I wish turn one would have been a little smoother; we could have probably maneuvered better through there. Overall we had a good night. I didn’t want to see any yellows at the end. We went with a harder tire than him [Bloomquist].”
Erb was making only his second appearance at the track as well, and was pleased with his podium finish. “It was a good battle up front. Scott had the best car all night, but it was a good race for second for a while. There were about three of us racing hard for the spot. My car got a little loose at the end, but to come home third is great. We needed to be tighter at the end, but overall it was good point night.”
Greg Johnson charged from ninth to finish fourth and Don O’Neal finished fifth.
Completing the top ten were Mike Marlar, Dustin Linville, Chris Madden, Gregg Satterlee, and Jason Jameson.
In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 28 entrants, with a lap of 13.509 seconds. Jared Hawkins set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.615 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Dennis Erb Jr., Jared Hawkins, and Jimmy Owens won their respective heat races. Darrell Lanigan won the B-Main.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, August 26th, 2016
13th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial
Ponderosa Speedway – Junction City, KY

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Scott Bloomquist / 13.509 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Jared Hawkins / 13.615 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Tim McCreadie, Greg Johnson, Josh Rice, Jonathan Davenport, Donnie Sullivan, Cody Mahoney-DNS
FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Dennis Erb, Jr., Mike Marlar, Don O'Neal, Steve Francis, Darrell Lanigan, Tommy Bailey, Michael Chilton-DNS
Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jared Hawkins, Brandon Sheppard, Gregg Satterlee, Dustin Linville, D.J. Wells, Brian Smith, Colton Flinner
QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chris Madden, Jason Jameson, David Seibers, Daniel Dial, Brandon Kinzer
Fast Shafts B-Main Finish (12 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Darrell Lanigan, D.J. Wells, Jonathan Davenport, David Seibers, Cody Mahoney, Colton Flinner, Brian Smith, Donnie Sullivan, Tommy Bailey, Daniel Dial-DNS, Brandon Kinzer-DNS, Michael Chilton-DNS
Feature Finish (50 Laps):
110Scott BloomquistMooresburg, TN$11,000
2539Tim McCreadieWatertown, NY$6,200
3328EDennis Erb, Jr.Carpentersville, IL$4,200
4988Greg JohnsonBedford, IN$2,750
5115Don O'NealMartinsville, IN$3,050
67157Mike MarlarWinfield, TN$1,800
714D8Dustin LinvilleLancaster, KY$1,500
81244Chris MaddenGaffney, SC$1,300
91022Gregg SatterleeRochester Mills, PA$1,200
101616Jason JamesonLawrenceburg, IN$1,100
11420Jimmy OwensNewport, TN$1,875
12214Cody MahoneyHanover, IN$1,050
136B5Brandon SheppardNew Berlin, IL$1,725
1481Earl Pearson, Jr.Jacksonville, FL$1,800
151515FSteve FrancisBowling Green, KY$1,650
161715LDarrell LaniganUnion, KY$1,625
17196Jonathan DavenportMount Airy, NC$1,900
1821HJared HawkinsFairmont, WV$875
191811wD.J. WellsWooton, KY$850
201311Josh RiceVerona, KY$825
212275Colton FlinnerAllison Park, PA$900
222018SDavid SeibersChapel Hill, TN$800
23247bBrian SmithBarbourville, KY$800
242318kBrandon KinzerAllen, KY$800
252597Michael ChiltonSalvisa, KY$800

Race Statistics
Entrants: 28
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 – 50)