Big T's

Big T's

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Bobby Pierce Bags First Crown Jewel; Wins Sunoco North/South 100

Bobby Pierce wins $50,000
(photo and article from Lucas Oil Media)

UNION, KY (August 13, 2016) - Bobby Pierce took the lead from Scott Bloomquist on lap 91 and led the rest of the way to win the biggest race in his young career on Saturday night at Florence Speedway. The 19-year-old second generation driver charged from the 16th starting spot to win the 34th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 - presented by Lucas Oil. Pierce earned $50,000 for his family-owned team. Bloomquist was seeking his first win the annual event since 2000, but settled for second, followed by Dale McDowell, Devin Moran, and Don O’Neal
 “A lot of guys gave me plenty of room tonight. I passed Billy Moyer and then later Scott Bloomquist for the win. I just don’t know what to say; to win a crown jewel at a track that I haven’t raced a lot is really cool. I was just glad the top was there. A big shout out to Bob Pierce Race Cars, Advanced Suspension, Pro Power Engines, Champion Spark Plugs, Allgayer Inc., Hoosier, VP, and all the other sponsors who make it work.”

Click read more
O’Neal looked strong in the early going by leading the first 32 laps until he and third-place running Jared Landers got hooked up on restart as both cars had to go to the pit area for repairs - losing their spots in the running order. Bloomquist inherited the lead and held on until the high-flying Pierce slid under him entering turn one on lap 91 to take over the top spot.
Pierce nearly scored his first career crown jewel back in May at the Show-Me 100 at Lucas Oil Speedway, but suffered a cut tire just after taking over the lead. “Yes, this is some redemption for what happened at Wheatland. I was just hoping the tire would stay tonight and it did. I want to give a shout out to the Clauson and Floyd Families and tell them we are all thinking of them.”
Bloomquist extended his series points lead over Jonathan Davenport who dropped out of the race and finished 25th. “He [Pierce] ran a good race, the top was where you needed to be. The right tire seems to be fine, our left rear kind of gave up there at the end. We have finished second so many times in this race, but we had a good weekend overall.”
Completing the ten were Dennis Erb Jr., Jackie Boggs, Billy Moyer, Tim McCreadie, and Steve Francis.
Non-Qualifiers Race Finish (30 Laps): Matt Miller, Nick Latham, Kent Robinson, Jake O’Neil, Josh Rice, Justin Rattliff, Chris Combs, Kyle Bronson, Nick Hoffman, Chad Stapleton, Doug Drown, RJ Conley, John Gill, Robby Hensley, Joe Brewer, Jason Feger, Kolby Vandenbergh, Joe Godsey, Jesse Lay, Timothy Culp
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday, August 13th, 2016
34th Annual Sunoco North/South 100
Florence Speedway – Union, KY
Eibach Springs FIRST ROUND Heat Race #1 Finish: Devin Moran, Tommy Bailey, Chris Brown, Dale McDowell, Jason Feger, Joe Godsey, Kolby Vandenbergh, Joe Brewer, Kyle Bronson, Colton Flinner, John Whitney
FK Rod Ends FIRST ROUND Heat Race #2 Finish: Chris Combs, Jake O'Neil, Ricky Weiss, Dennis Erb, Jr., Chad Stapleton, Kent Robinson, Bobby Pierce, Chris Madden, D.J. Wells, Steve Landrum, Jerry Gibson, Jr.
Simpson Performance Products FIRST ROUND Heat Race #3 Finish: Don O'Neal, Michael Chilton, Jason Jameson, Jesse Lay, John Gill, Adam Bowman, Timothy Culp, Nick Latham, Zak Blackwood, Nathan Vawter, Scott James
QA1 FIRST ROUND Heat Race #4 Finish: Jared Landers, Mike Marlar, Darrell Lanigan, Tim Dohm , Steve Francis, Matt Miller, Earl Pearson, Jr., Justin Rattliff, Dustin Nobbe, Austyn Mills, Mason Zeigler
Eibach Springs FIRST ROUND Heat Race #5 Finish: Doug Drown, Brandon Sheppard, Gregg Satterlee, Jonathan Davenport, Ray Cook, Robby Hensley, Ethan Burgess, Trevor Landrum, Jeff Alsip, Jackie Boggs
FK Rod Ends FIRST ROUND Heat Race #6 Finish: Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Billy Moyer, Tim McCreadie, Josh Rice, Nick Hoffman, Cody Mahoney, RJ Conley, Mike Benedum, Kenny Cobble
Eibach Springs SECOND ROUND Heat Race #1 Finish: Jonathan Davenport, RJ Conley, Kyle Bronson, Tim McCreadie, Kent Robinson, Ricky Weiss, Justin Rattliff, Jesse Lay, Adam Bowman, Kolby Vandenbergh, Jackie Boggs-DNS
FK Rod Ends SECOND ROUND Heat Race #2 Finish: Scott Bloomquist, Brandon Sheppard, Earl Pearson, Jr., Josh Rice, Jason Feger, Timothy Culp, Dustin Nobbe, Chris Combs, Jeff Alsip, John Whitney-DNS, Chris Madden-DNS
Simpson Performance Products SECOND ROUND Heat Race #3 Finish: Steve Francis, Dale McDowell, Jimmy Owens, Nick Hoffman, Robby Hensley, Zak Blackwood, Trevor Landrum, Joe Godsey, Nathan Vawter, Jerry Gibson, Jr., Mason Zeigler-DNS
QA1 SECOND ROUND Heat Race #4 Finish: Bobby Pierce, Nick Latham, Ray Cook, Michael Chilton, Chad Stapleton, Tim Dohm , Joe Brewer, Austyn Mills, Kenny Cobble, Devin Gilpin-DNS
Eibach Springs SECOND ROUND Heat Race #5 Finish: Jason Jameson, Matt Miller, Colton Flinner, Mike Marlar, Cody Mahoney, Ethan Burgess, Tommy Bailey, Jake O'Neil, D.J. Wells, Gregg Satterlee, Scott James
FK Rod Ends SECOND ROUND Heat Race #6 Finish: Don O'Neal, Billy Moyer, Dennis Erb, Jr., Chris Brown, Jared Landers, Devin Moran, Doug Drown, Darrell Lanigan, John Gill, Steve Landrum, Mike Benedum
Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Line Up (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Tim McCreadie, Ray Cook, Josh Rice, RJ Conley, Kyle Bronson, Kent Robinson, Chad Stapleton, Timothy Culp, Jason Feger, John Gill, Adam Bowman, Dustin Nobbe, Jeff Alsip, Nathan Vawter, Steve Landrum, Jerry Gibson, Jr.-DNS, Scott James-DNS
Keyser MFG B-Main #2Line Up (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Tim Dohm, Ricky Weiss, Matt Miller, Nick Latham, Kolby Vandenbergh, Nick Hoffman, Jesse Lay, Joe Brewer, Colton Flinner, Zak Blackwood, Earl Pearson, Jr., Kenny Cobble, Ethan Burgess, Austyn Mills, John Whitney-DNS, Devin Gilpin-DNS
Sunoco Race Fuels B-Main #3 Line Up (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Tommy Bailey, Jackie Boggs, Jake O'Neil, Doug Drown, Darrell Lanigan, Justin Rattliff, Chris Combs, Robby Hensley, Joe Godsey, Trevor Landrum, Cody Mahoney, Gregg Satterlee-DNS, D.J. Wells-DNS, Chris Madden-DNS, Mike Benedum-DNS, Mason Zeigler-DNS
Feature Line Up (100 Laps):
11632Bobby PierceOakwood, IL$50,000
220Scott BloomquistMooresburg, TN$10,900
3817mDale McDowellChickamauga, GA$7,000
41499mDevin MoranDresden, OH$5,000
515Don O'NealMartinsville, IN$4,800
61528EDennis Erb, Jr.Carpentersville, IL$4,500
7224BJackie BoggsGrayson, KY$3,600
8621Billy MoyerBatesville, AR$3,400
91739Tim McCreadieWatertown, NY$4,050
101215FSteve FrancisBowling Green, KY$3,300
111097Michael ChiltonSalvisa, KY$3,250
129777Jared LandersBatesville, AR$3,900
134B5Brandon SheppardNew Berlin, IL$3,850
141321BChris BrownSpring, TX$3,125
15520Jimmy OwensNewport, TN$3,900
161911BTommy BaileyCorbin, KY$3,075
17241Earl Pearson, Jr.Jacksonville, FL$3,850
182575Colton FlinnerAllison Park, PA$125
192011CRay CookBrasstown, NC$3,000
202315LDarrell LaniganUnion, KY$3,700
21312JJason JamesonLawrenceburg, IN$3,000
2211157Mike MarlarWinfield, TN$3,000
232618EXEthan BurgessSharonville, OH$3,000
24217wRicky WeissHeadingley, MB$3,000
2576Jonathan DavenportMount Airy, NC$4,000
26186tTim DohmCharleston, WV$3,000

Race Statistics
Entrants: 62