Big T's

Big T's

Monday, August 29, 2016

Bloomquist Wins Lawrenceburg’s Whiskey City 60

Scott Bloomquist is red hot in the Lucas Oil Series

LAWRENCEBURG, IN (August 27, 2016) – For the second night in a row Scott Bloomquist led every lap of a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event, winning Saturday night’s Whiskey City 60 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. His win at Lawrenceburg was his 12th series win of the season as he continues to stand atop the championship standings.
 Earl Pearson Jr.; in the Dunn-Benson Ford/Lucas Oil/Longhorn Chassis; finished second, followed by Brandon Sheppard in the Best Performance Motorsports/Rocket Chassis. Completing the top five were Gregg Satterlee, and Dennis Erb Jr.
 Bloomquist set a new track record for Late Models at Lawrenceburg in Miller Welders Time Trials, then went on to dominate his heat race, before finally capturing his second career win at the facility. “I lost my power steering near the end. We didn’t dare get up on that cushion. We could lean on it, but without power steering it’s extremely difficult to drive these cars. It takes about everything you have. I am glad that one’s over!”
 “We made sure that we had some traction coming off of turn four. If you slide across there, it wasn’t too bad. The cautions somewhat helped keep the engine cooled down. We got to about 230 or 240 degrees. The humidity tonight didn’t help with some of the issues the other drivers had.”

Jimmy Owens and Bloomquist started on the front row as Bloomquist took the lead at the start of the race. Jonathan Davenport had moved up from ninth to third in the early going, but a blown tire would end his race.
Bloomquist waited through several caution flags as Pearson and Sheppard were hotly contesting the second position. The two went back and forth several times with Pearson emerging from the battle with the runner-up position at the finish.
“We changed engines this afternoon. The car was really good all night long. Me and B-Shepp had a great race for second. We both were up on the wheel. We tried our best to stay with Scott, but he is back on one of those rolls he gets on and it’s hard to beat him,” said Pearson.
Sheppard tried the highest line on the race track in turns one and two. But in three and four he would lose what he had gained on Pearson. “We kept trying that line until I think I wore it out. It blackened up going into one and I couldn’t quite steer it like I had in some of the previous laps. It is always great to race against Earl, he gives you plenty of room and he’s a good clean driver.”
Completing the top ten were Colton Flinner, Nick Hoffman, Darrell Lanigan, Steve Francis, and Kent Robinson.
In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time and new Lawrenceburg Speedway Track Record (Group B) amongst the 35 entrants, with a lap of 13.827 seconds. Jared Hawkins set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 14.036 seconds. Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, and Cody Mahoney won their respective heat races. Don O’Neal and Duane Chamberlain won their respective B-Mains.
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday, August 27th, 2016
Whiskey City 60
Lawrenceburg Speedway – Lawrenceburg, IN
Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Jared Hawkins / 14.036 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist / 13.827 seconds
Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Jared Hawkins, Jonathan Davenport, Steve Francis, Don O'Neal, Scott James, Jesse Lay, Austyn Mills, Michael Hensley-DNS
FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Wayne Chinn, Dustin Nobbe, Jason Jameson, Chad Stapleton, Ted Nobbe, Trevor Landrum
Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Darrell Lanigan, Dennis Erb, Jr., Dustin Linville, Kent Robinson, Kody Evans, Robby Hensley, Colton Flinner, D.J. Wells-DNS
QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Cody Mahoney, Gregg Satterlee, Tim McCreadie, Devin Gilpin, Duane Chamberlain, Ethan Burgess, Nick Latham, Nick Hoffman, John Gill-DNS
Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Don O'Neal, Jason Jameson, Jesse Lay, Chad Stapleton, Trevor Landrum, Ted Nobbe, Austyn Mills, Scott James , Michael Hensley
Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Duane Chamberlain, Kent Robinson, Kody Evans, Nick Latham, Ethan Burgess, Nick Hoffman, Robby Hensley, Colton Flinner-DNS, D.J. Wells-DNS, John Gill-DNS
Feature Finish (60 Laps):
120Scott BloomquistMooresburg, TN$13,000
231Earl Pearson, Jr.Jacksonville, FL$6,300
37B5Brandon SheppardNew Berlin, IL$4,200
4822Gregg SatterleeRochester Mills, PA$2,750
51028EDennis Erb, Jr.Carpentersville, IL$2,950
62375Colton FlinnerAllison Park, PA$1,900
7242hNick HoffmanMooresville, NC$1,500
8615LDarrell LaniganUnion, KY$2,000
91315FSteve FrancisBowling Green, KY$1,900
10207RKent RobinsonBloomington, IN$1,100
11175Don O'NealMartinsville, IN$1,875
12161GDevin GilpinColumbus, IN$1,050
131820cDuane ChamberlainRichmond, IN$1,025
1451HJared HawkinsFairmont, WV$1,000
151239Tim McCreadieWatertown, NY$1,700
16120Jimmy OwensNewport, TN$1,800
17224GKody EvansCamden, OH$1,000
1896Jonathan DavenportMount Airy, NC$2,000
1944Cody MahoneyHanover, IN$1,000
202133Jesse LayWalton, KY$1,000
211126Wayne ChinnBradford, OH$1,000
2214D8Dustin LinvilleLancaster, KY$1,000
23155NDustin NobbeBatesville, IN$1,000
241916Jason JamesonLawrenceburg, IN$1,000

Race Statistics
Entrants: 35
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 – 50)
Cautions: Jason Jameson (Lap 8); Darrell Lanigan (Lap 16); Wayne Chinn (Lap 19); Cody Mahoney (Lap 20); Jonathan Davenport (Lap 24); Tim McCreadie (Lap 30); Devin Gilpin (Lap 40); Colton Flinner (Lap 52); Dennis Erb Jr. (Lap 56); Nick Hoffman (Lap 58)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Colton Flinner
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: Nick Hoffman
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Colton Flinner (Started: 23rd; Finished: 6th; Advanced 17 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Scott Bloomquist
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Colton Flinner
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Earl Pearson Jr