Big T's

Big T's

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Chris Madden Controls Southern Nationals Bonus Race at Smoky Mountain Speedway

(August 27, 2016) Picking up where he left off two years ago at Smoky Mountain Speedway with the Southern Nationals Bonus Series, Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C. dominated for the $5,300 prize during the Food City-sponsored event. Madden’s last Southern Nationals Bonus Series win at Smoky Mountain Speedway came during the Iron-Man Classic in August of 2014.

 In a touching moment in victory lane, Chris Madden dedicated the victory in memory of the fallen Maryville (Tenn.) police officer Kenny Moats who was killed in the line of duty a few days earlier. Madden also gave his winner’s check to a lucky race fan and handed out armbands in memory of that officer in the grandstands following the win. McIntosh, who was the race runner up was also offered his kind words to the family in the post-race interview.Madden became the sixth different winner in six races this season on the Southern Nationals Bonus Series while driving the Crowder Trucking, Allstar Performance, Century Plastics and Stroble Mini Storage-sponsored Clements Racing Engines-powered Longhorn Chassis.
Madden led from start to finish in the 40-lapper and crossed the stripe 01.371 seconds ahead of fourth starting Donald McIntosh, sixth starting Ricky Weiss, polesitter Billy Ogle Jr. and eighth starting Mike Marlar.
Click read more for more info

Four yellow flags slowed the feature event. Ryan King spun in turn one on lap one, T.J Reaid spun on lap four and Kenny Cobble came to a stop on the back stretch on lap 15. The final yellow came on lap 37.
The next Southern Nationals Bonus Series event will be on Sunday September 4th at the Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, Tenn. for the Eighth Annual Buddy Rogers Memorial paying $4,400-to-win.
Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at .
Official Summary of Results
Feature Results of “Food City 40” at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN on August 27, 2016:
1. Chris Madden-Gray Court, S.C.
2. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
3. Ricky Weiss-Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
4. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
5. Derek Ellis-Chatsworth, Ga.
6. Mike Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
7. Ray Cook-Brasstown, N.C.
8. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
9. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
10. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
11. Chad Ogle-Sevierville, Tenn.
12. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
13. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
14. Jason Croft-Woodstock, Ga.
15. Mark Vineyard-Powell, Tenn.
16. Jordon Horton-Sneedville, Tenn.
17. T.J. Reaid-Ackworth, Ga.
18. Tommy Kerr-Maryville, Tenn.
19. Kenny Cobble-Cookeville, Tenn.
20. Bobby Giffin-Maryville, Tenn.
21. Craig Greer-Cleveland, Tenn.
22. Doug Smith-Harriman, Tenn.